2019 Zzina Awards unveil nominees

play all visit

The nominees of the sixth edition of the Zzina Awards have been announced ahead of the awards ceremony at Theatre La Bonita in Kampala, Uganda, on 22 March.

Members of the public have until 20 March to vote for their favourite acts in 17 categories.

Dancehall act Daddy Andre is the most nominated artist with seven nominations for Best Producer of the Year, Best Songwriter of the Year, Best Dancehall Song of the Year, Best Dancehall Artist of the Year, Best Song of the Year and Best Collaboration of the Year, a category in which he was nominated twice.

He is followed closely by Spice Diana and John Blaq who received six and four nominations respectively.

The Zzina Awards are organised by Galaxy FM and voting is done via the radio station’s official website.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Best Male Artist of the Year

King Saha
Jose Chameleone
Bobi Wine
Eddy Kenzo
Gravity Omutujju
John Blaq

Best Female Artist of the Year

Lydia Jazmine
Spice Diana
Winnie Nwagi

Best Producer of the Year

Daddy Andre
Diggy Baur
Eno Beats

Best Songwriter of the Year

Daddy Andre
Yesse Oman Rafiki
Nince Henry
Charlie Mugerwa
Dokta Brain

Best Dancehall Song of the Year

‘Dididada’ – A Pass
‘Tukwatagane’ – John Blaq
‘Now’ – Spice Diana and Daddy Andre
‘Olumya Bano’ – Nina Rose
‘Aye’ – Voltage Music
‘Bwannamunigina’ – Fatty Kris
‘Olina Work’ – Beenie Gunter

Best Dancehall Artist of the Year

Voltage Music
Beenie Gunter
John Blaq
A Pass
Daddy Andre

Best Lugaflo/Rap Song of the Year

‘Who is Who’ – Feffe Busi
‘Property’ – Fik Fameika
‘Who is Me’ – Da Agent
‘Embuzi Zakutudde’ – Gravity
‘Mafia’ – Fik Fameika
‘Guma Bakunyige’ – Recho Rey
‘Twazikoze’ – Hit Nature

Best Lugaflo/Rap Artist of the Year

Feffe Busi
Fik Fameika
Da Agent
Recho Rey
Mun G

Best Breakthrough Artist of the Year

John Blaq
Chosen Becky
Recho Rey
Karole Kasita

Best Contemporary R&B Artist of the Year

Lydia Jazmine
King Saha
Winnie Nwagi
Ykee Benda
Chosen Becky

Best Inspirational Song of the Year

‘Heart of a Winner’ – B2C
‘Born to Win’ – Fik Fameika
‘Champion’ – Jose Chameleone
‘Tambula Nange’ – Mowzey Radio

Best Afrobeat Song of the Year

‘Kyalenga’ – Bobi Wine
‘Mataala’ – Winnie Nwagi
‘Kibooko Fire’ – Kalifa Aganaga ft Jose Chameleone
‘Bankuza’ – Chozen Becky
‘Siri Muyembe’ – Rema
‘Wankoona’ – Sheebah Karungi
‘Ndi Mu Love’ – Spice Diana
‘Chips na Ketchup’ – Vinka
‘On My Way’ – King Saha
‘Mateeka’ – Jose Chameleone

Best Fans Team of the Year

Team Spice Diana – Spice Diana
Leone Island – Jose Chameleone
Sheebaholics – Sheebah Karungi
Ykee Empire – Ykee Benda
Nwagicians – Winnie Nwagi
Team Vinka – Vinka

Best Collaboration of the Year

‘You and Me’ – Lydia Jazmine and Daddy Andre
‘Mpa Love’ – Weasel and King Saha
‘Kibooko Fire’ – Kalifa Aganaga and Jose Chameleone
‘Now’ – Spice Diana and Daddy Andre
‘Pull Up’ – Eddy Kenzo and Harmonize
‘No You No Life’ – B2C and The Ben
‘Atakutya Gwentya’ – Mun G and Nutty Neithan
‘Katubikole’ – Vinka and Fik Fameika

Best Artist of the Year

Spice Diana
Sheebah Karungi
John Blaq
Bobi Wine
Jose Chameleone
Fik Fameika
King Saha

Best Song of the Year

Kyarenga – Bobi Wine
You and Me – Lydia Jazmine and Daddy Andre
Bankuza – Chosen Becky
Siri Muyembe – Rema
Tukwatagane – John Blaq
Chips and Ketchup – Vinka
Wankoona – Sheebah Karungi
Mateeka – Jose Chameleone
Property – Fik Fameika
Replay – Levixone

Best Comedian of the Year

Mad Rat and Chico
Maulana and Reign
Napoleone Ehmah
Crazy University

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail